Report Update

CCA Appoints Expert Panel on Natural Disaster Resilience

The Council of Canadian Academies (CCA) has assembled a distinguished panel to explore opportunities to enhance the resilience of Canadian communities by better integrating climate change adaptation and disaster risk reduction efforts. The Expert Panel will be chaired by Scott Vaughan, Senior Fellow at the International Institute for Sustainable Development and Former Federal Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development.

“In the face of a changing climate, it will be essential that Canada is well positioned to deal with more frequent and severe natural disasters,” said Mr. Vaughan. “I look forward to working with my colleagues to identify opportunities to improve disaster resilience in Canada.”

As Chair, Mr. Vaughan will lead a multidisciplinary group with extensive expertise, experience, and leadership in emergency management, disaster risk assessment, preparedness and prevention; and climate adaptation. The Panel will answer the following question:

What key opportunities exist to improve disaster resilience in Canada through better integration of disaster risk reduction and climate change adaptation research and practice?

“We’re delighted that Mr. Vaughan will be leading this process as Chair and I look forward to a report that will inform decision making on this crucial issue,” said Eric M. Meslin, PhD, FCAHS, President and CEO of the CCA.

The CCA was asked by Public Safety Canada to undertake this project. More information can be found here.

The Expert Panel on Natural Disaster Resilience:

Scott Vaughan, (Chair) Senior Fellow, International Institute for Sustainable Development; Former Federal Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development

Alain Bourque, Executive Director, Ouranos

Elliott Cappell, Director, Climate Change, WSP Canada

Stephanie E. Chang, Professor, School of Community and Regional Planning and Institute for Resources, Environment and Sustainability, University of British Columbia

Jimena Eyzaguirre, International Team Director and Senior Climate Change Adaptation Specialist, ESSA Technologies Ltd.

Mike Flannigan, Professor of Wildland Fire, Department of Renewable Resources, University of Alberta

Kathryn Hyland, Senior Vice-President, Risk Management, Swiss Re

David Lapp, FCAE, Practice Lead, Climate Change Adaptation / Principal Climate Scientist, Engineers Canada

Tara McGee, Associate Chair (Undergraduate Studies), Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Alberta

Kevin Quigley, Professor, School of Public Administration and Director, MacEachen Institute for Public Policy and Governance, Dalhousie University

Sarah Sargent, Vice President – Programs, Canadian Operations, Canadian Red Cross

Laxmi Sushama, Professor and Trottier Chair in Sustainability in Engineering and Design, McGill University