Jean-Pierre Bourguinon

Jean-Pierre Bourguinon

Former President, European Research Council; Honorary Professor, Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (Bures-sur-Yvette, France)

June 19, 2020

Professor Jean-Pierre Bourguignon is the Former President of the European Research Council (January 2014 to December 2019). Prior to that, he was the Director of the Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques (IHÉS) from 1994 till 2013, and the first ERC Panel Chair for Starting Grants in Mathematics.

A mathematician by training, Professor Bourguignon spent his whole career as a fellow of the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS). He held a Professor position at École polytechnique, and was President of the Société Mathématique de France and President of the European Mathematical Society. Professor Bourguignon is a former member of the Board of the EuroScience organisation and served on EuroScience Open Forum (ESOF) committees from 2004 to 2013.

Professor Bourguignon received the Prix Paul Langevin in 1987 and the Prix du Rayonnement français in Mathematical Sciences and Physics from the Académie des Sciences de Paris in 1997. He is a foreign member of the Royal Spanish Academy of Sciences. In 2005, Professor Bourguignon was elected honorary member of the London Mathematical Society and has been the secretary of the mathematics section of the Academia Europaea. He was made Doctor Honoris Causa of Keio University, Japan, in 2008 and of Nankai University, China, in 2011. In 2017, Professor Bourguignon was elected honorary member of the German Association of Mathematicians (DMV) and foreign member of the Portuguese Academy of Sciences. In 2018, he was made Doctor Honoris Causa of University of Edinburgh. In 2019, he was made honorary member of the Polish Mathematical Society.

Role: Panel Member
Report: Powering Discovery (May 2021)